IPL 2024 MI vs CSK: Pathirana hinders MI batters; MS Dhoni’s quickfire runs prove to be the difference in the end

Following this win, CSK have won their fourth win of the season and are third on the points table. 

In the 29th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Mumbai Indians (MI) by 20 runs at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. 

MI skipper Hardik Pandya won the toss and asked CSK to bat first. The visiting unit began its batting with Ajinkya Rahane at the top along with Rachin Ravindra (21). Though Rahane got out cheaply, Ravindra too got decent runs under his belt before getting out in the eighth over. Skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad (69) came in at number three and continued his terrific form. The right-handed batter hit five fours and five sixes and played at a strike rate of 172. Along with him, homeboy Shivam Dube (66*) also played an exceptional knock and scored an unbeaten fifty, which included 10 fours and two sixes. For the third wicket partnership, both batters added 90 runs from just 45 deliveries. While Daryl Mitchell (17) also got a few runs, it was Mahendra Singh Dhoni (20*) who electrified the Wankhede audience with his three consecutive maximums in the last over, which helped CSK post 206/4 in 20 overs.

Rohit Sharma (105*) was the lone warrior for MI, as he stood tall from one end and smashed a well-earned century. The former MI skipper got some help from Ishan Kishan at the start of the inning, but the 25-year-old batter got out soon after the powerplay. Both batters added 70 runs together for the first wicket partnership. Later on, Rohit also built a 60-run partnership with Tilak Varma (31). Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and others were unable to contribute sufficiently, leaving them 20 runs short off the mark.

Matheesha Pathirana was the star bowler for the visiting side, as he grabbed four wickets. Along with him, one wicket each was also picked up by Tushar Deshpande and Mustafizur Rahman

For MI with the ball, Hardik Pandya got two wickets while one each was taken by Gerald Coetzee and Shreyas Gopal. 

Matheesha Pathirana was adjudged Player of the Match for his exceptional bowling show. Following this win, CSK have won their fourth win of the season and are third on the points table. 


Chennai Super Kings: 206/4, Overs 20, Ruturaj Gaikwad 69, Hardik Pandya 2/43

Mumbai Indians: 186/6, Overs 20, Rohit Sharma 105*, Matheesha Pathirana 4/28

Related Articles

Latest Articles