Ruturaj Gaikwad replaces MS Dhoni as CSK skipper before first IPL 2024 clash

In 2021, during CSK's fourth title-winning season, Ruturaj Gaikwad also won the Orange Cap.

The five-time Indian Premier League (IPL) winners, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have announced that Mahendra Singh Dhoni has resigned from the captaincy and Ruturaj Gaikwad has become the team’s new skipper ahead of the 2024 edition.

For CSK, Gaikwad has appeared in 52 games since joining the team in 2019. In 2021, during CSK’s fourth title-winning season, the right-handed opening batter also won the Orange Cap.

With the exception of the two seasons, Dhoni has captained the Super Kings since the IPL’s inception in 2008. However, he offered the leadership of the team to Ravindra Jadeja at the beginning of the 2022 season. Notwithstanding the team’s terrible performance, Dhoni once again resumed captaincy after eight games.

After a horrible season in 2022, Dhoni yet again changed the fortunes of the side in 2023 as he guided the side to clinch its fifth IPL title.

In 212 IPL games as CSK’s captain, the Ranchi-based player won 128 matches while losing just 82.

The defending champions will begin their 2024 IPL journey at home in Chennai against Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) tomorrow, i.e., March 22 at 8 PM IST.

Related Articles

Latest Articles