IPL 2024 GT vs SRH: Mohit Sharma’s mastery and David Miller’s excellence inspire GT to win two points

Following this win, GT are now fourth in the points tally. 

In the 12th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Gujarat Titans (GT) defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by seven wickets at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. 

SRH skipper Pat Cummins won the toss and asked GT to bowl first. The move proved to be regrettable, as the Gujarat-based team successfully restricted the visitors to a below-par score of 162/8 in 20 overs. Mohit Sharma was the evening’s standout, as he was especially difficult to deal with in the death overs.

In the chase, both openers, Wriddhiman Saha (25) and Shubman Gill (36) provided a positive start, which helped the home team to set the foundation. Playing at a strike rate of 192, Saha hammered two sixes and one four. In addition, Sai Sudharsan (45) was a pillar for the 2022 IPL champions, leading the chase with his precise shot-making judgements. Along with him, David Miller (44) showed excellent form as he stood tall and guided the team to victory. Vijay Shankar (14*) also batted well towards the end and contributed crucial runs. Knowing the target was one of the most important things for GT, since it allowed the side to chase more gently. 

Coming off after two successive 200+ runs, the guests were offered a slow track. Mayank Agarwal (16), Travis Head (19), Abhishek Sharma (29), Aiden Markram (17), Heinrich Klassen (22), Abdul Samad (29) and Shahbaz Ahmed (22) all got a few runs under their belt but none of them could score any match-winning knock.

For GT with the ball, Mohit Sharma grabbed three wickets in his quota of four overs. One wicket each was also taken by Azmatullah Omarzai, Umesh Yadav, Rashid Khan, and Noor Ahmad. 

SRH only managed to grab three GT wickets. Shahbaz, Mayank Markande, and Cummins were the ones to grab one wicket each. 

Mohit Sharma was adjudged Player of the Match for his outstanding bowling show. Following this win, GT have won their second game and are now fourth in the points tally. 


Sunrisers Hyderabad: 162/8, Overs 20, Abdul Samad 29, Mohit Sharma 3/18

Gujarat Titans: 168/3, Overs 19.1, Sai Sudharsan 45, Shahbaz Ahmed 1/20

Related Articles

Latest Articles