IPL 2023 SRH vs PBKS: Tripathi, Markram outclass PBKS, collect first win for SRH

With this win, SRH have finally registered a victory in the IPL 2023.

In the 14th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) defeated Punjab Kings (PBKS) by eight wickets at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

After winning the toss, SRH captain Aiden Markram opted to chase. The decision turned out to be the right one as PBKS only managed to post 143 runs on the board. Mayank Markande, Umran Malik and the rest did their job very well which helped the team restrict the opponents for a below-par score.

In the chase, both the openers, Harry Brook (13) and Mayank Agarwal (21) began the innings well for the Punjab-based side and set the momentum for the forthcoming batters. Even with not much to chase, Rahul Tripathi (74) chose the auto-pilot mode and scored a quickfire fifty. With a strike rate of 154, Tripathi hammered 10 fours and three sixes which was enough to seal the first two points for SRH. Towards the end, Markram (37) gave a helping hand to Tripathi and took SRH to their first win of the season.

In the first innings with the bat, no one apart from captain Shikhar Dhawan (99*) could help PBKS to register decent runs on the board. Notably, Dhawan aided the visitors from 88/9 to 143/9 which in itself was a massive outcome. It looked like SRH bowlers had answers for everyone but the southpaw opening batter.

While bowling in the first innings, Mayank Markande was at his best as he managed to grab four wickets. Two wickets each were also taken by Umran Malik and Marco Jansen. Bhuvneshwar Kumar also got a wicket in his quota of four overs.

For PBKS, one wicket each was grabbed by Arshdeep Singh and Rahul Chahar.

Shikhar Dhawan was named Man of the Match for his magnificent batting performance. With this win, SRH have finally registered a victory in the IPL 2023.


Punjab Kings: 143/9, Overs 20, Shikhar Dhawan 99*, Mayank Markande 4/15

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 145/2, Overs 20, Rahul Tripathi 74*, Arshdeep Singh 1/20

Related Articles

Latest Articles