IPL 2024 RR vs GT: Rashid, Tewatia propel GT to gain two points in the final over thriller

With this win, Gujarat Titans are now sixth in the points tally. 

In the 24th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Gujarat Titans (GT) defeated Rajasthan Royals (RR) by three wickets at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. 

GT won the toss and opted to field first. The unit was quite economical in the powerplay, as it only conceded 43 runs and took two wickets. With 196/3 on the board for the home team, the score looked quite good but GT batters had some other plans. 

In the chase, both openers, Sai Sudharsan (35) and Shubman Gill (72) got off to a flying start, scoring 64 runs for the first wicket partnership. Skipper Gill had an amazing outing with the willow as he smashed a well-earned fifty, which included six fours and two sixes. The home team, though, lost a few wickets in quick succession leaving GT in deep trouble. Rahul Tewatia (22) and Rashid Khan (24) did exceptionally well to take GT over the winning line. Both batters played at a strike rate of over 200 which helped the unit come close to the target, eventually winning the game.

For RR with the bat, Jos Buttler failed to deliver yet again and Yashasvi Jaiswal (24) also lost his wicket right in the fifth over. It was skipper Sanju Samson (68*) and Riyan Parag (76), who took the proceedings forward. The duo rebuilt RR’s inning and posted 130 runs together for a third-wicket partnership. A few runs by Shimron Hetmyer (13*) towards the end aided RR to get to 196/3.

With the ball in the first innings, GT had a tough outing as they only plucked three wickets. Of those three, one wicket each was taken by Umesh Yadav, Rashid Khan and Mohit Sharma

While defending, Kuldeep Sen took three wickets while Yuzvendra Chahal grabbed two and Avesh Khan got one.

Rashid Khan was adjudged Player of the Match for his all round effort. With this win, Gujarat Titans have clinched their third win of the season and are now sixth in the points tally. 


Rajasthan Royals: 196/3, Overs 20, Riyan Parag 76, Rashid Khan 1/18

Gujarat Titans: 199/7, Overs 20, Shubman Gill 72, Kuldeep Sen 3/41

Related Articles

Latest Articles