Zimbabwe to host the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2021

The qualifiers are going to take place between November 21 to December 5.

International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2021 will be held in Zimbabwe from November 21 to December 5.

It will be a 10-team-tournament that will decide the three qualifying teams for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 which is scheduled to be held in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3. These three teams would then be joining the other five teams – Australia, England, India, South Africa and hosts New Zealand who has already qualified for the ICC Women’s Championship.

The three qualifiers as well as the next two teams will also ensure places in the next ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) along with the top five from last time, as the number of teams in the third cycle of the IWC goes up from eight to 10 teams.

The teams that will be seen in action in the fifth edition of the tournament are Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the United States, the West Indies, and Zimbabwe.

ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley said, “The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is an extremely important event in our calendar as it not only provides teams with a chance to qualify for the World Cup but will also determine the final two participants in the next edition of the ICC Women’s Championship.”

Zimbabwe Cricket Chairman, Tavengwa Mukuhlani said, “Firstly, I wish to express our heartfelt thanks to the ICC board for their magnanimous gesture in allowing us the privilege of hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2021.”

He further added, “On our part, we will leave no stone unturned to ensure this prestigious global event stands out as a unique event that celebrates Zimbabwe in all its magnificent splendour, richness, vibrancy, diversity and glory.”

Related Articles

Latest Articles