WPL 2023 Final DC vs MI: Mumbai Indians clinch inaugural WPL trophy

With this win, Mumbai Indians became the first team to clinch the inaugural WPL 2023 title.

In the Final match of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023, Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) by seven wickets at the Brabourne stadium in Mumbai.

The DC captain, Meg Lanning won the toss and opted to bat first in the all-important final. However, the decision backfired as MI bowlers came out with their best performance in the final. The likes of Matthews and Wong restricted the Delhi-based team to just 131 runs.

While chasing, even the Mumbai-based batters lost a few wickets upfront which might have put MI fans under pressure for a while. Nevertheless, the inform batters Natt Sciver-Brunt (60*) and Harmanpreet Kaur (37) once again stood tall and delivered for the team with three balls to spare. While Sciver-Brunt scored seven fours, Kaur also hammered five fours which took MI over the victory line.

In the first innings, Lanning (35) commenced the innings on a high note as she laid the foundation before getting run out in the 12th over. The only other batters to score a few good runs towards the end were Shikha Pandey (27) and Radha Yadav (27) who helped DC to reach a respectable total.

Hayley Matthews and Issy Wong bagged three wickets each which helped massively to restrict the opponents for a low score. With them, two wickets were also picked by the Kiwi all-rounder, Melie Kerr.

For DC, Jess Johnson and Radha Yadav were the only bowlers to scalp a wicket while defending.

Nat Sciver-Brunt was adjudged Player of the Match for her wonderful batting performance. With this win, Mumbai Indians became the first team to clinch the inaugural WPL 2023 title. 


Delhi Capitals: 131/9, Overs 20, Meg Lanning 35, Hayley Matthews 3/5

Mumbai Indians: 134/3, Overs 19.3, Nat Sciver-Brunt 60*, Radha Yadav 1/24

Related Articles

Latest Articles