IPL 2023 DC vs MI: Green, David help Mumbai register first win of the season

Following this win, Mumbai Indians have finally bagged two points in the ongoing season of the IPL.

In the 16th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) by six wickets at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

MI won the toss and elected to ball first. The decision helped the five-time IPL winners as they restricted DC to a par score. Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff and others kept DC batters at bay by only conceding 172 runs.

While chasing, skipper Rohit Sharma (65) looked in great touch as the batter scored a magnificent half-century. Sharma took full responsibility, attacking bowlers from the start and slamming six fours and four sixes. Along with Rohit, Ishan Kishan (35) and Tilak Verma (41) added important runs to MI’s inning. MI were on their way to their first, but they still had another obstacle to overcome. MI lost a few quick wickets in the dying overs which added strain to the MI camp. Tim David eventually won the game for the visitors by clicking the ball towards the long on and running like his life depended on it.

Delhi Capitals had a tough start once again with the bat as they lost Prithvi Shaw (15) yet again in the powerplay. David Warner (51) was trying his best and was scoring runs from one end but with a very less strike rate. Warner even had less to no help from the other end which eventually led to having a less score on the board. However, Axar Patel (54) stole the show by scoring his maiden half-century which also helped the home side to reach a defending score.

Piyush Chawla was at his best as he plucked three wickets that too at a crucial junction of the match. Jason Behrendorff also plucked three wickets in three overs. Riley Meredith also picked two wickets while Hritik Shoukeen also claimed one wicket in the first innings.

For DC with the ball, only Mukesh Kumar grabbed two wickets and Mustafizur Rahman got one.

Rohit Sharma was adjudged Player of the Match for his match-winning knock. Following this win, Mumbai Indians have finally bagged two points in the ongoing season of the IPL.


Delhi Capitals: 172/10, 19.4 Overs, Axar Patel 54, Piyush Chawla 3/22

Mumbai Indians: 173/4, 20 Overs, Rohit Sharma 65, Mukesh Kumar 2/30

Related Articles

Latest Articles