Sri Lanka Cricket board planning to host T10 League

Sri Lanka is hoping to become the first ICC Full Member nation to host a national T10 league. The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board has released a tender to identify Sports Marketing & Management Agency that will join hands with SLC to manage franchise ownership and identify sponsors for the league.

The details of the tournament are yet to be finalized. However, SLC hopes to hold the tournament sometime in 2021 during a window that would be suitable and compatible with the Lanka Premier League T20 tournament and potential national team tours.

As per recent developments, the proposed specifications for the tournament will see 17 games taking place in a double round-robin format, similar to the Indian Premier League, followed by the semi-finals and a final.

Six teams are proposed to feature in the tournament, with SLC hoping to include a team from northern Sri Lanka. Each squad will likely comprise of 16 players, including a maximum of six foreign internationals. As of now, Dambulla and Pallekele International Cricket Stadiums have been penciled in to host the games.

Related Articles

Latest Articles