PSL 2021 set to resume from in June

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2021 is all set to resume from June 1. The decision to resume the competition was taken during the meeting of the Board of Governors (BoG) of the Pakistan Cricket Board over the weekend.

With the next few games previously scheduled to be played in Lahore, the decision by the governing body will see all the 20 games be played in Karachi, with the Final being played on June 20. The cricket tournament in the last month was suspended due to the rise in covid-19 cases not only in the country, but within the bio-bubbles set up by the PCB.

The teams, including the players, coaching, and supporting staff will be reporting the allotted hotel on May 22, following which they will require to undergo strict seven-day quarantine starting from the day of their arrival. The teams, after the completion of their mandatory quarantine, will be allowed to practice for three days before the tournament commences from June 1.

After a thorough review of the bio-security protocols, which was reported by an independent two-person fact-finding commission set up by the PCB, a series of recommendations and updates were proposed for the better working of bio-bubbles in the future.

Following the discussion that took place on Saturday, a PCB statement was released that read: “The BoG endorsed all recommendations of the fact-finding panel, including robust and stringent implementation of the protocols, as well as maintaining a zero-tolerance approach towards all those who breach the Covid-19 SOPs, which are put in place for safeguarding the health and safety of all participants.”

The consequences of organizing a not-so-capable bio-bubble were felt closely. However, in order to make amends, the PCB is looking forward to appointing an international safety management firm, that “specialises in providing Covid-safe technology solutions, bio-secure monitoring & management, as well as response and reaction to positive tests”.

The season will continue from June 1, with Lahore Qalandars facing Islamabad United. All the remaining 20 matches will be played at Karachi’s National Stadium. Previously, some of the 14 matches in PSL 2021 took place in Lahore and Karachi.

Related Articles

Latest Articles