IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians wins record fifth IPL title

Mumbai Indians convincingly defeated Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final match of IPL 2020 to become the first team to lift the title for the fifth time. They also became the second IPL team after Chennai Super Kings to defend the IPL trophy. The Mumbai based franchise has been dominant throughout the season, finishing first in the league stage and defeating Delhi four times in the tournament.

Chasing a tricky target of 157 for victory, MI never looked in trouble courtesy of the captain’s knock from Rohit Sharma. The Indian batsman scored 68 runs in 51 balls to guide his team to the victory. Quinton de Kock also provided a solid start, while Ishan Kishan also chipped in to easily chase down the target.

Earlier in the game, Trent Boult had reduced Delhi to 22 for three with an excellent display of fast bowling during the powerplay. However, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant hit half-centuries to take DC to a respectable score. Despite DC’s fightback, the final score was under par against a strong batting lineup of MI.

Mumbai Indians’ IPL titles win

  • 2013 – MI beat CSK by 23 runs
  • 2015 – MI beat CSK by 41 runs
  • 2017 – MI beat RPS by 1 run
  • 2019 – MI beat CSK by 1 run
  • 2020 – MI beat DC by five wickets

With yesterday’s win, Rohit Sharma has become the first player to win six IPL titles- five with MI and one with Deccan Chargers. He is yet to lose an IPL final. He also became the first captain to score two fifties in IPL finals. MI also became the first team to use less than 15 players in the whole season and win the title.

Other presented awards:

  • Man of the Match in the Final: Trent Boult for his performance of 3/30
  • Emerging player: Devdutt Padikkal (473 runs with 5 fifties @ SR:124.8)
  • Fair Play Award: Mumbai Indians
  • Game Changer of the Season Award: KL Rahul
  • Super Striker of the Season: Kieron Pollard who played at a Strike-rate of 191.42
  • Award for Most Sixes in the season: Ishan Kishan with 30 sixes
  • Power Player of the season: Trent Boult for his incredible performance in the Power-Play
  • Purple Cap: Kagiso Rabada (30 wickets, ER: 8.34, Avg: 18.26, SR: 13.13)
  • Orange Cap: KL Rahul (670 Runs, Avg: 55.83, SR: 129.34, 58 fours and 23 sixes)
  • Most Valuable Player of the Season: Jofra Archer (20 wickets, 175 dots, 5 catches and 10 sixes)

(Stats courtesy: Cricbuzz)

It has been the most competitive IPL campaign as the race for qualifiers went down the wire and the bottom-most team ended up with 12 points. The season also witnessed the first-ever double super over in IPL. Despite the competitive nature of the tournament, MI once again showed why they are the best franchise in the IPL history by delivering dominant performances throughout the last two months.

Related Articles

Latest Articles