ICC confirms changes to formats of World Cups in 2023-31 cycle

June 2, 2021 | By : Abhinaba Haldar

The outcome of the executive board meeting held by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday confirmed that the 2027 ICC men’s World Cup will feature a total of 14 teams, while the ICC T20 World Cup will be expanded to 20 teams. The previous reports had suggested that the international cricket’s governing body has finally given their verdict on the much-anticipated changes in the next cycle of ICC’s Future Tours Programme which will come into effect from 2023 till the end of the 2031 season.

A total of 54 matches will be played between 14 teams in the 2027 and 2031 World Cups. These World Cups will re-introduce the Super Sixes format, which last seen in 2003. Meanwhile, the T20 World Cup will witness a record 20 teams split into four groups. The top two teams will qualify for the next stage of Super Eight. The T20 World Cups are scheduled to be held in 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030.

Along with an expansion in the number of total teams in both formats of the men’s World Cup, the 50 over Champions Trophy will also make a comeback in 2025 and 2029. The tournament last took place in 2017. The new Champions Trophy will be played between the top eight teams. ICC also decided to continue with the format of the World Test Championship which will feature nine teams playing six series, with the finals to be held every two years from 2025 to 2031.

ICC also revealed a packed international calendar for all the teams which previously faced opposition from the powerful cricket boards. However, it is also understood that the strategical move with more events will lead to more revenue for the governing body, which in turn could be used for the growth of smaller nations affiliated to ICC. Here is the complete schedule for men’s and women’s cricket in the next cycle.

ICC Men’s Tournaments:
  • 2024 – T20 WC
  • 2025 CT and WTC final
  • 2026 – T20 WC
  • 2027 – ODI WC and WTC final
  • 2028 – T20 WC
  • 2029 – CT and WTC final
  • 2030 – T20 WC
  • 2031 – ODI WC and WTC final
ICC Women’s tournaments:
  • 2024 – T20 WC
  • 2025 – ODI WC
  • 2026 – T20 WC
  • 2027 – T20 Champions Trophy
  • 2028 – T20 WC
  • 2029 – ODI WC
  • 2030 – T20 WC
  • 2031 – T20 Champions Trophy


Get the latest news and insights straight to your inbox.