BBL introduces three new rules for upcoming season

Big Bash League (BBL) is set to introduce three new innovative rules for the 2020 season. Power Surge, X-Factor Player, and Bash Boost are the set of three rules that will be introduced with immediate effect in BBL. These rules are expected to improve the entertainment value of the shortest format of cricket.

The Power Surge will bring changes to the powerplay rules. The batting team will be able to split the power play, four mandatory overs at the start of the innings, while the remaining two overs can be taken by the batting side after the 11th over. This rule will improve conditions for batsmen to have a late flourish. The number of powerplay overs remain six, so the bowlers will not be disheartened by this rule.

In the X-Factor Player rule, teams can utilize substitutes more effectively in the game. The 12th or 13th player can be introduced in the game after ten overs of the first innings. The substitute player can replace a bowler that has not bowled more than one over in the game. The batting side can replace a batsman in the lineup depending on the game situation. This rule will make sure that teams will have fewer disadvantages when a player gets injured midway through the game.

Bash Boost will impact the grading system of the league. The winning team will be getting three points instead of two points. Moreover, the team faring better at the halfway stage of the innings will be getting a bonus point. If a chasing team has scored more runs at ten over mark than the other team, then the former will get a bonus point and vice-versa.

These innovations will certainly bring a more tactical edge to the games in BBL this season. The new campaign is set to begin with the game between Hobart Hurricane and Sydney Sixers on December 12, 2020. The final of the tournament will be held on February 6, 2021.

Related Articles

Latest Articles