Australia Legends set to miss Road Safety T-20 series

The truncated first season of the Road Safety T-20 series is set to be completed with multiple changes in March. According to ESPNcricinfo, Australia Legends has decided to pull out of the tournament due to travel restrictions due to coronavirus.

England Legends and Bangladesh Legends are set to be the new teams introduced to the competition that will be played in Raipur next month. There is yet to be an official announcement on squads of England and Bangladesh. West Indies, Sri Lanka, India, and South Africa are the other teams that will be fighting for the maiden title.

The T-20 competition was inaugurated in 2020 as part of an awareness campaign started by the Road Safety Cell of Maharashtra. Four games of the tournament took place in Mumbai before the pandemic forced the organisers to suspend other games indefinitely.

Earlier in February, an announcement was made regarding the remaining games of the tournament. All games are now set to be played with a tweaked schedule to the introduction of new teams in the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur. It remains to be seen whether fans will be allowed in the 65,000-seater stadium during the series. All games will be taking place between March 2 and March 21.

Former cricketers will most likely undergo quarantine before participating in the tournament. Since games are competitive, fans will be eager to get a glimpse of seeing former players such as Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Virender Sehwag back in action.

Meanwhile, Unacademy will continue to be the title sponsor of the tournament. The Edu-tech brand has been consistently investing in sports events across the country. They are also part of the sponsorship portfolio of the Indian Premier League. Unacademy also remains in the fray to get the title sponsorship deal of IPL.

Related Articles

Latest Articles