IPL 2024 RCB vs KKR: Iyer, Narine power KKR to second win of the season

With this win, KKR are now second in the points tally. 

In the 10th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) by seven wickets at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. 

Shreyas Iyer won the toss and opted to field first. KKR’s biggest letdown today was their fielding, as they dropped at least three to four catches. Nonetheless, the bowlers were able to take wickets at regular intervals, which hampered RCB’s strike rate. Harshit Rana went for runs yet he was impressive, while Andre Russell hit the deck hard and grabbed a few wickets. Such bowling led the home team to score only 182/6 in 20 overs, which was particularly just over par score. 

In the chase, the Knights got off to a strong start with both openers, Sunil Narine (47) and Phil Salt (30) smashing bowlers right from ball one. Just in the powerplay, KKR hammered 85 runs, which eased out the target. If this was not enough, Venkatesh Iyer (50) took the proceedings forward, which included four sixes and three fours. Such a quickfire knock certainly scored two points for KKR, which also extended their winning record at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. Skipper Iyer (39*) also struck a few runs along with Venkatesh. Both batters added 75 runs for the third wicket partnership, which helped KKR win over RCB. 

While batting first, Virat Kohli (83*) was the lone warrior for the hosts, as nobody else even managed to score half of what he achieved. Striking at 140, Kohli hammered four fours and four sixes. Cameron Green (33), Glenn Maxwell (28) and Dinesh Karthik (20) all scored quick runs but couldn’t bat long, which tampered their score at the end of the inning. 

With the ball in the first innings, Russell and Harshit Rana secured two wickets each. Moreover, Sunil Narine also bagged one wicket. 

While defending, one wicket each was grabbed by Vijaykumar Vyshak, Yash Dayal and Mayank Dagar. 

With this win, KKR have secured their second win of the season and are now second in the points tally. 


Royal Challengers Bengaluru: 182/6, Overs 20, Virat Kohli 83*, Andre Russell 2/29

Kolkata Knight Riders: 186/3, Overs 16.5, Venkatesh Iyer 50, Vijaykumar Vyshak 1/23

Related Articles

Latest Articles