IPL 2022 to commence on March 26; Mumbai and Pune to conduct league fixtures

All teams will play five teams twice and the remaining four teams only once.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 will commence on March 26 and the final will be played on May 29. The upcoming edition will have a total of 74 matches including 70 league fixtures. 

Each team will play 14 league matches (seven home and seven away). All teams will play five teams twice and the remaining four teams only once. The IPL Governing Council Meeting also unveiled that the league phase of the tournament will be played in just two cities – Pune and Mumbai. The four venues for the season are Brabourne Stadium and Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, the DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai and the Maharashtra Cricket Association in Gahunje in Pune. The playoffs’ venue will be decided later by the BCCI.

The allotment of 10 sides in two virtual groups of five is based on a seeding system defined by the number of IPL titles won and the number of finals played. 

Each team will play two fixtures with the teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the second group. With the other remaining franchises in the second group, they will play just once in the league phase of the upcoming edition. 

For eg: Mumbai Indians (MI) will lock horns twice with Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Delhi Capitals (DC) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) also against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) who are in Group B. They will face Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Gujarat Titans (GT) only once.

Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium will host 20 matches each, while Brabourne Stadium and MCA International Stadium will conduct 15 fixtures each. 

Related Articles

Latest Articles