India vs Australia 4th Test: India retains BG Trophy; secures WTC Final berth

With this draw, Team India has once again claimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and qualified for the World Test Championship final.

The fourth Test match of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 between India and Australia concluded in a draw on Day 5 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

After winning the toss, Steve Smith asked team India to field first. It was evident that any side would want to bat on this track given the quality of the pitch offered at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium. Even on day 2, the Aussies were not in the hurry to declare as they were easily dispatching every bowler the Indians had on the table. The Australians could only be brushed aside by Ravichandran Ashwin, which allowed India to dismiss the visitors for a solid 480 runs.

India appeared to be a reliable team while batting second as the team amassed 571 runs. India got off to a good start thanks to the efforts of both the openers, Rohit Sharma (35) and Shubman Gill (128), who were then followed by the seasoned Virat Kohli (186). While the 23-year-old scored his second century in a Test match, Virat, on other hand, smashed his 75th international century. Axar Patel (79), and Srikar Bharat (44), along with other batters, helped India build a 91-run lead.

Usman Khawaja (180), who scored a smooth century for the visitors, once again appeared to be in excellent form. He was joined by Cameron Green (114), who also hit a crucial century. Together, the two batters hit 200+ runs for the fifth wicket, which was sufficient to undermine the bowlers’ self-assurance. Todd Murphy ( 41), Steve Smith (38), Nathon Lyon (34), and a few others also contributed.

Other than Ravichandran Ashwin, who claimed six wickets, team India looked clueless with the ball. Meanwhile, Axar and Ravindra Jadeja both got one wicket, while Mohammad Shami also secured two.

With the ball, the Australians appeared more composed as both spinners, Murphy and Lyon, each claimed three wickets. Matthew Kuhnemann and Mitchell Starc each secured one wicket.

Given the manner their batters played, it looked like the Aussies always had the mentality to strive for a draw. Travis Head (90), who displayed a cool-headed half-century, and Marnus Labuschagne (60), who also got a fifty, both displayed outstanding performances. Day 5 of the game saw an early conclusion due to the likelihood of no winner.

The home team did its utmost to maintain its lead and rapidly finish off the opposition, but they were unable to do so. Just two wickets were picked in the process, which was claimed by Axar and Ashwin.

Virat Kohli was named Man of the Match for his superb first-inning batting performance. With this draw, Team India has once again claimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and qualified for the World Test Championship final, where they will face the mighty Australians on June 7.


Australia: 480/10, Overs 167.2, Usman Khawaja 180, Ravichandran Ashwin 6/91

India: 571/10, Overs 178.5, Virat Kohli 186, Todd Murphy 3/113

Australia: 175/2d, Overs 78.1, Travis Head 90, Axar Patel 1/36

Related Articles

Latest Articles