ICC confirms host nations for women’s competitions in 2024-27 cycle

The hosts for the competitions were determined by a competitive bidding process.

The international cricket governing body, International Cricket Council (ICC) has affirmed the host nations for the women’s competitions conducted between 2024-27. 

The 2024-27 cycle of major women’s international tournaments kick-start with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 and the hosting rights have been acquired by Bangladesh. The country from Asia will be hosting an elite international women’s competition of this stature for the first time and will be hosting the T20 World Cup for the second time. The tournament will be played between September-October with 10 teams playing 23 fixtures. 

The second competition in the cycle will be the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025, which will be played in India. The tournament will be organized with eight teams playing a total of 31 matches. India will be hosting an ICC Women’s competition for the fifth time. 

The following event is the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2026, which will be played in England in June. A total of 33 fixtures will be played in this competition with 12 teams likely to participate. 

On being selected as the host for the competition, Claire Connor, interim ECB CEO, said, “We’re absolutely delighted that we’ve been selected to host the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2026. We saw back in 2017 how hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup captured people’s imagination and I’ll never forget watching Heather Knight lift the trophy on that magical day at a sold-out Lord’s.” 

The event that will conclude the cycle is the maiden edition of the Women’s ICC Champions Trophy, which will be conducted in Sri Lanka. The competition will be played in the shortest format in February 2026 with six teams and 16 matches.

While commenting on receiving the hosting rights, Ashley de Silva, Sri Lanka Cricket CEO, said, “Sri Lanka Cricket gives utmost importance to the growth of women’s cricket; hence we consider, being bestowed the honour of hosting ICC Women’s T20 Champions Trophy 2027,z is an excellent opportunity for us to be a part of the global growth program launched by the International Cricket Council to develop women’s cricket.”

The hosts for the competitions were determined by a competitive bidding process which was supervised by Martin Snedden, Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt. 

Related Articles

Latest Articles