Everything to know about FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 will serve as the first WC to be co-hosted by two countries, as well as the first to feature 32 teams.

The highly-anticipated top-most professional football tournament organised by FIFA, contested by senior women’s national football teams, FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is all set to begin on July 20 and will run until August 20, 2023.

The tournament, which is held every four years, will be this time hosted by Australia and New Zealand. This will serve as the first FIFA Women’s World Cup to be co-hosted by two countries, as well as the first to feature 32 teams. Due to the tremendous recent development of the global women’s game, this is twice as many as the 2011 event and eight more than in 2019.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is now in its ninth year. Half of the previous editions have been won by the United States (1991, 1999, 2015, and 2019).

Moreover, Germany has won twice (2003 and 2007), while Japan (2011) and Norway (1995) have also prevailed once.

It is expected to be the most attended solitary women’s athletic event in history, with over one million tickets already sold, as well as one of the largest worldwide sporting tournaments. The opening matches will be between New Zealand and Norway at Eden Park, Auckland, and Australia’s match against the Republic of Ireland at Stadium Australia. Matches will be held in nine host cities and ten venues.

The format calls for 32 teams to be grouped into eight groups of four teams each. In a round-robin style, every team will play the other team in their group once. Each group’s top two teams will make it to the Round of 16. The knockout rounds also comprise four quarter-finals, two semi-finals, and then the epic final.

Below is the list of teams placed in their respective groups:

Group ANew Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
Group BAustralia, Canada, Nigeria, Republic of Ireland
Group CCosta Rica, Japan, Spain, Zambia
Group DChina, Denmark, England, Haiti
Group ENetherlands, Portugal, United States, Vietnam
Group FBrazil, France, Jamaica, Panama
Group GArgentina, Italy, South Africa, Sweden
Group HColombia, Germany, South Korea, Morocco

Related Articles

Latest Articles