BCB set to introduce heavy fines for bubble breaches during Dhaka Premier League

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has confirmed that a heavy punishment will be imposed on players and staff that breaches the integrity of the Dhaka Premier League’s bio-bubble at any point of time during the tournament that is set to begin in June.

According to Ali Hossain, secretary of the Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis (CCDM), stringent fines will be imposed on any participant, including players, clubs, and officials that compromises the integrity of the tournament. Furthermore, there is also a possibility that the person in question might be suspended from the tournament.

“Points can be deducted while there is provision of fines including suspension of players/officials if bio-bubble is breached.”

The board has carefully organized the tournament with maximum security in order to keep the DPL unaffected by the pandemic, which had previously forced the organizers to postpone the event indefinitely. Additionally, it is reported that the BCB will be spending BDT 6 crore for setting up the bio-bubble environment for all the participants. They will be staying at their respectively assigned hotels in the city – Sonargaon, Four Seasons, Intercontinental, and Lakeshore.

The CCDM and BCB have meanwhile deducted 20 percent of the players’ salary who earn more than BDT 10 lakh. The decision comes in the view of mitigating the financial burdens that the clubs are facing due to the pandemic.

“Players earning more than BDT 10 Lakhs in DPL will have 20 percent reduction as you all know that it’s hard to bear all the expenses during the time of corona. We have spoken with the cricketers and they are ready to accept it.”

The testing procedure is in full run, with almost 300 participants done with it once. Although nine of them have returned with a positive result, the board is relentlessly trying to keep the flow of events intact by taking the necessary measures so as to keep the tournament’s schedule unimpacted by any event. The season is set to begin on May 31. It will have a fresh start and played in a T20 format instead of its conventional 50 overs.

Related Articles

Latest Articles