IPL franchises announce the retention of their marquee players

Several franchises are yet to finalize their retention list with the deadline set on November, 30, 12 pm IST.

The Indian Premier League franchises have retained their marquee players. Mahendra Singh DhoniVirat KohliRohit SharmaJasprit Bumrah and Kane Willamson are some of the big names who have been retained by their respective franchises.

However, several franchises are yet to finalize their retention list with the deadline set on November, 30, 12 pm IST. Some big changes would be witnessed ahead of the mega auction as with the addition of the two new franchises the tournament will consist of 10 teams. The purse of the franchises has also seen growth as it has upraised to 90 crores.

The existing franchises can retain a total of four players, out of which the limit to retain overseas players is two. While the two new franchises have the option to pick three players after the existing franchises have finalized their retention list.

Chennai Super Kings have announced their four players, Ravindra JadejaMoeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad, who was the highest run-scorer in the last edition, and lastly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni who will again lead the Men in Yellow in the IPL 2022.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have currently listed two names, Virat Kohli, who resigned from the captaincy role after IPL 2021 phase 2, and second, Glen Maxwell who had a decent run in the ICC T20 World Cup, while his national side lifted the trophy.

Mumbai Indians have also currently retained two players, their captain Rohit Sharma, and their death over specialist Jasprit Bumrah.

Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad have announced retaining only one player each. Rajasthan has retained Sanju Samson while Sunrisers Hyderabad has retained Kane Williamson.

Lastly, Kolkata Knight Riders have already retained four players, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakraborty, and Venkatesh Iyer. 

While Delhi Capitals has also decided to retain four players, Rishab PantPrithvi ShawAxar Patel, and Anrich Nortje ahead of the IPL 2022 auction.

Related Articles

Latest Articles