IPL 2024 MI vs SRH: Suryakumar Yadav’s exquisite century leads MI to earn a comfortable win

With this result, MI have now clinched their fourth win of the season and are now ninth in the points tally. 

In the 55th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Mumbai Indians (MI) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by seven wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. 

Toss was won by MI skipper Hardik Pandya, who chose to field first. On another slow wicket at the iconic Wankhede Stadium, the home team’s bowlers did a commendable job of restricting SRH to 173/8 in 20 overs. Skipper Pandya and Piyush Chawla were the leading wicket-takers for MI tonight, while Jasprit Bumrah bowled at an economy rate of 5.8. 

In the chase, both openers, Ishan Kishan (9) and Rohit Sharma (4), fell early in the powerplay. Naman Dhir too faced nine deliveries but failed to score a run. It was Suryakumar Yadav (102*), who stood tall, handled the new ball pressure and led the five-time champions to victory. Playing at a strike rate of 200, the Mumbai-based batter hammered a classic ton, which consisted of six sixes and 12 fours. Along with him, Tilak Varma (37*) also played a handy knock and helped Surya from the other end. From 31/3, both batters added 143 runs together to chase down the total with 16 balls to spare. 

With the bat in the first innings, Travis Head (48) began the innings with a lightning show. The unit also had decent powerplay but post that, the side kept on losing wickets, preventing SRH from adding another 20-odd runs to the scoreboard. Playing at number 10, Pat Cummins (35*) handled the situation well and took the visitors to a decent total of 173. 

For MI in the first innings, Chawla and Pandya grabbed three wickets each. Along with them, one wicket each was also picked up by Anshul Kamboj and Bumrah. 

For SRH with the ball, one wicket each was scalped by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marco Jansen, and Cummins. 

Suryakumar Yadav was adjudged Player of the Match for his electrifying century. With this result, MI have now clinched their fourth win of the season and are now ninth in the points tally. 


Sunrisers Hyderabad: 173/8, Overs 20, Travis Head 48, Hardik Pandya 3/31

Mumbai Indians: 174/3, Overs 17.2, Suryakumar Yadav 102*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1/22

Related Articles

Latest Articles