IPL 2024 CSK vs GT: CSK bowlers derail GT batters to register a resounding win

With this win, CSK have now secured their second win of the season and are now on the top of the table. 

In the seventh match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat Gujarat Titans (GT) by 63 runs at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

GT skipper Shubman Gill won the toss and asked CSK to bat first. The innings began on a fierce note for the home team as both openers, Ruturaj Gaikwad (46) and Rachin Ravindra (46), went blazing right from ball one and laid a perfect foundation for the middle-order batters. While skipper Gaikwad scored one six and five fours, the Kiwi batter hammered a quickfire knock, which consisted of six fours and three sixes at a strike rate of 230. The innings were later advanced by Shivam Dube (51) who smashed a remarkable fifty, which included massive five sixes and two fours. Daryl Mitchell (24*) and Sameer Rizvi (14) also scored a few runs at the back end of the innings to take CSK’s score to 206/6 in 20 overs. 

In the chase, the Titans began in a decent manner, with Wriddhiman Saha (21) and Sai Sudharsan (37) decently pushing through initial overs. The side started to lose wickets after the powerplay, which hampered their chase massively. David Miller (21), Azmatullah Omarzai (11) and a few others scored a bit of runs but it was not enough to get GT two points. 

While defending, CSK were bowlers were powerful with their economy rate, as nobody crossed even the 10.00 mark. The likes of Deepak Chahar, Mustafizur Rahman, and Tushar Deshpande took two wickets each, and with them, Daryl Mitchell and Matheesha Pathirana also grabbed one wicket each. 

For GT with the ball, Rashid Khan scalped two wickets, while one wicket each was also plucked by Sai Kishore, Spencer Johnson, and Mohit Sharma.

Shivam Dube was adjudged Player of the Match for his outstanding batting show. With this win, CSK have now secured their second win of the season and are now on the top of the table. 


Chennai Super Kings: 206/6, Overs 20, Shivam Dube 51, Rashid Khan 2/49

Gujarat Titans: 143/8, Overs 20, Sai Sudharsan 37, Tushar Deshpande 2/21

Related Articles

Latest Articles