India tour of Ireland 2023 2nd T20I: Gaikwad, Rinku shine as India clinch series with a game to go

Rinku Singh was adjudged Player of the Match for his blistering knock in the first inning.

In the second T20I match of the three-match series, India defeated Ireland by 33 runs at the Malahide Cricket Club Ground or the Village in Dublin.

Ireland skipper Paul Stirling won the toss and asked India to bat first. Ruturaj Gaikwad (58), along with Yashasvi Jaiswal (18), gave the Men in Blue a decent start with a few boundaries around. Gaikwad scored an impressive fifty, which included six fours and one six. Sanju Samson (40) continued the proceedings and took India to a decent score. To his support from the other end post-Gaikwad’s wicket, Rinku Singh (38*) arrived and played a quick-fire knock. With Rinku, Shivam Dube (22*) played a fantastic knock that consisted of two gigantic sixes towards the end of the innings, which took India to a massive score of 185/5. Both batters, Rinku and Dube, added 55 runs for the fifth-wicket partnership.

In the chase, Andrew Balbirnie (72) scored a humongous fifty at a strike rate of 140 which gave a flying start to Ireland’s inning. However, the right-handed batter did not get any support from the other end, derailing the home team’s quest. Mark Adair (23), Curtis Campher (18), and George Dockrell (13) were the next top-scoring batters, which was not enough to get to the target. The Irish men only got 152 runs in their 20 overs.

While defending, skipper Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, and Ravi Bishnoi picked up two wickets each. Along with them, Arshdeep Singh also managed to claim one wicket.

With the ball in the first innings, Barry McCarthy struck two wickets, while one wicket each was taken by Benjamin White, Craig Young, and Mark Adair.

Rinku Singh was adjudged Player of the Match for his blistering knock in the first inning. Following this win, India have now clinched the series by 2-0 with one match to go.


India: 185/5, Over 20, Ruturaj Gaikwad 58, Barry McCarthy 2/36

Ireland: 152/2, Overs 20, Andrew Balbirnie 72, Jasprit Bumrah 2/15

Related Articles

Latest Articles