BCCI appoints new All-India Junior Selection Committee members

Former Tamil Nadu cricketer Sharath Sridharan has been named as the Chairman of the committee.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a new All-India Junior Selection Committee, with the former Tamil Nadu cricketer Sharath Sridharan being named as the Chairman.

It’s is a five-member selection committee with each member representing the five zones of the country. The committee includes; Parthik Patel representing the West Zone, Ranadeb Bose representing the East Zone, Kishan Mohan representing the North Zone, Harvinder Singh Sodhi representing the Central Zone and Sharath Sridharan representing the South Zone and will be acting as the Chairman of the committee as well.

All of the five committee members are ex-India or ex-state cricketers. Ranadeb Bose played for India ‘A’ and the IPL team Kolkata Knight Riders during his time as a cricketer while Parthik Patel is a former Gujarat wicket-keeper batsman. Harvinder Sodhi played as a medium-pacer bowling all-rounder for the Madhya Pradesh team while Krishan Mohan used to be a batsman for the Punjab state team.

The Chairman of the committee, Sharath Sridharan is a former Tamil Nadu captain and is the first cricketer to play 100 Ranji Trophy matches for the state. In his 15-year-long domestic career, he has scored 8700 runs including 27 centuries and 42 half-centuries in 139 first-class matches with a highly impressive average of 51.17. He has also played over 100 List A games scoring more than 3000 runs. He has also acted as a BCCI match referee.

The five-member committee will be entrusted with the duty of selecting the next batch of India U-19s who will represent the country at the U-19 World Cup in the West Indies next year.

The previous junior selection committee was headed by Ashish Kapoor and included Debashish Mohanty, Gyanendra Pandey, Rakesh Parikh and Amit Sharma.

Related Articles

Latest Articles