IPL 2023 Final CSK vs GT: Saviour Jadeja rescues Super Kings in a last-ball thriller, CSK secure fifth IPL title

Following this victory, Chennai Super Kings won the IPL 2023 and also secured their fifth title.

In the Final match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Gujarat Titans (GT) by five wickets (DLS method) at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to field first. It was more of trust in the batters to chase any kind of total in the second innings rather than belief in their inexperienced bowling lineup. Tushar Deshpande went for massive 56 runs while Maheesh Theekshana was the most economical one with nine per over. Ravindra Jadeja managed to get CSK their first breakthrough courtesy of MS Dhoni’s lightning stumping. In their 20 overs, the Chennai-based side conceded 214 and just managed to take four wickets.

In the chase, CSK first had to cross the hurdle of rain which must have surely hurt the mindset of the players who had to be in the dressing room for more time than on the field. With the revised target being 171 in 15 overs, the chase began with some fireworks from both the opening batters, Devon Conway (47) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (26). Both the batters provided 74 runs for the first wicket partnership which included three fours and one six from Gaikwad and four fours and two sixes from Conway’s willow. Shivam Dube (32*) struggled a bit in the middle overs but still found two necessary maximums. Ajinkya Rahane (27) and Ambati Rayudu (19) gave some relief as they brought down the run rate just in time courtesy of some amazing shots all around the park. However, CSK fans also received a shocker towards the end when skipper MS Dhoni got out for a golden duck. Nonetheless, the protagonist of the night, Jadeja (15*) once again salvaged CSK from a difficult situation and handed them triumph on the final ball. With 10 needed from two, it seemed impossible with the manner Mohit Sharma was bowling. But the hometown fellow held his composure and struck a six and a four to seal the game for the Super Kings.

With the bat in the first innings, Wriddhiman Saha (54) and Shubhman Gill (37) once again provided GT with a great start in the powerplay in which Saha played the anchor’s knock while Gill struck seven fours from the other end. After the 23-year-old’s quick-fire knock came to an end, it was Sai Sudharsan (96) who took the proceedings forward. The youngster smashed eight fours and six gigantic sixes which ensured that GT would reach a massive score in 20 overs. Sudharsan played at over 200 strike rate which even kept skipper Hardik Pandya (21*) off the spotlight. Towards the end of 20 overs, GT posted 214 runs on the board which also became the highest runs ever scored in any IPL finals.

In the first innings with the ball, CSK only managed to pick up four wickets. Matheesha Pathirana bagged two wickets. Along with him, one wicket each was also taken by Deepak Chahar and Ravindra Jadeja.

For GT with the ball, Mohit Sharma was exceptional but unfortunately as well. Nevertheless, the 34-year-old grabbed three wickets. Noor Ahmad also acquired two wickets.

Devon Conway was adjudged Player of the Match for his quintessential performance with the bat in the chase. Following this victory, Chennai Super Kings won the IPL 2023 and also secured their fifth title. The MSD-led team became the second franchise to obtain five IPL titles.


Gujarat Titans: 214/4, Overs 20, Sai Sudharsan 96, Matheesha Pathirana 2/44

Chennai Super Kings: 171/5, Overs 15 (DLS method), Devon Conway 47, Mohit Sharma 3/36

Infographics created by GrabOn

Related Articles

Latest Articles