IPL 2024 PBKS vs GT: Gujarat Titans clinch close victory against Punjab Kings

With this win, Gujarat Titans climbed to the sixth position in the points table with four wins from eight matches.

The 37th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, played at the Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium in Mullanpur, Chandigarh, saw Gujarat Titans (GT) emerge victorious by three wickets against Punjab Kings (PBKS).

Punjab, after winning the toss, opted to bat first. Openers Sam Curran and Prabhsimran Singh provided a solid foundation with a 50-run partnership in just 5.3 overs. However, the innings fell apart soon after as the Titans’ spin attack took control. The trio of Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Rashid Khan, and Noor Ahmad combined brilliantly, restricting the home team’s scoring rate and picking up wickets at regular intervals.

The three spinners bowled a total of 12 overs and claimed a combined seven wickets for just 68 runs. Sai Kishore emerged as the pick of the bowlers, scalping four wickets, while Noor Ahmad and Rashid Khan chipped in with two and one wickets respectively. A late cameo of 29 runs off just 12 balls from Harpreet Brar helped Punjab reach a below-par total of 142 runs. Mohit Sharma cleaned up the tail in the final over, restricting Punjab to a manageable target.

Chasing 143 for victory, the visitors lost their opener Wriddhiman Saha early for 13 runs. However, Sai Sudharsan and Shubman Gill steadied the innings with a 41-run partnership. Liam Livingstone brought Punjab back into the contest with quick dismissals of Gill and David Miller.

Punjab’s bowlers continued to fight back, restricting the flow of runs and picking up wickets at regular intervals. Curran dismissed Sudharsan and Harshal Patel accounted for the wicket of Azmatullah Omarzai.

Despite the fightback, Rahul Tewatia‘s unbeaten knock of 36 runs off just 18 balls proved to be the match-winner for the 2022 IPL champions. Tewatia’s brilliant knock ensured Gujarat crossed the finish line with three wickets remaining.

For his outstanding bowling performance, R Sai Kishore was deservedly adjudged the Player of the Match.

With this win, GT climbed to the sixth position in the points table with four wins from eight matches. PBKS, on the other hand, remained in the ninth position with just two wins from their eight matches.


Punjab Kings: 142, Overs 20, Prabhsimran Singh 35, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore 4/33

Gujarat Titans: 146-7, Overs 19.1, Rahul Tewatia 36, Harshal Patel 3/15

Related Articles

Latest Articles