IPL 2021: Shaw storm blows away Kolkata Knight Riders

Prithvi Shaw comes up with yet another special innings to help Delhi Capitals to beat Kolkata Knight Riders by seven wickets on Thursday. Delhi remains on course to make it to the playoffs of IPL 2021 after this win as they have won five of their seven games. Meanwhile, KKR has a tall task on their hand to make it to the knockout rounds.

Delhi started the chase of 155 runs in the best possible manner. Prithvi Shaw managed to score six boundaries against Shivam Mavi in the first over of the inning. The young opener kept on scoring freely throughout the innings to make the mockery of the chase. Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan provided him good company by scoring 46 runs in 47 deliveries.

Shaw was not sparing any bowler as he played some sensational shots along the ground. He racked up 11 boundaries and three sixes during his innings of 82 runs in 41 deliveries. Delhi eventually coasted to the total in 17th over without breaking a sweat. Pat Cummins was the pick of the bowlers for KKR as he took three wickets for 24 runs in his four overs.

After being told to bat first, KKR once again failed to get a good start. Nitish Rana was dismissed by Axar Patel in the fourth over. There was a brief partnership between Rahul Tripathi and Shubman Gill, but KKR once again had a collapse in the middle order. By the end of the 13th over, KKR found themselves in a state of bother as they lost half of the side for 82 runs. A late flurry of boundaries from Andre Russell allowed KKR to get a respectable total. However, the first over of DC’s innings made sure that KKR had a below-par total.

Courtesy of the fifth win of IPL 2021, Delhi managed to boost their net run rate and moved to second position in the points table. At the halfway stage of the tournament, KKR is fifth in the points table with two wins. Morgan’s men will have to win at least five of their next seven games to remain in contention for playoffs.


Kolkata Knight Riders: 154/6 (Andre Russell 45(27), Shubman Gill 43(38), Lalit Yadav (2/13), Axar Patel (2/32))

Delhi Capitals: 156/3 (Prithvi Shaw 82(41), Shikhar Dhawan 46(47), Pat Cummins (3/24))

Related Articles

Latest Articles