India tour of South Africa 2023–24 3rd T20I: India record biggest win over SA in T20I history, share series by 1-1

Following this win, India have levelled the series and thus, shared the coveted trophies with the home team. 

In the third and final T20I match of the bilateral series, India defeated South Africa by 106 runs at the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

South Africa won the toss and asked India to bat first. The Men in Blue had a definite philosophy of batting fearlessly, which was evident tonight as the batters began to bat at full throttle from ball one. Although India lost Shubman Gill‘s and Tilak Varma‘s wickets early in the powerplay, Yashasvi Jaiswal (60) and Suryakumar Yadav (100) stitched 112 runs together for the third wicket partnership. While Jaiswal hit six fours and three sixes, SKY smashed seven fours and eight massive sixes. Furthermore, Rinku Singh (14) added his own touch as SKY cruised to another magnificent century, his fourth in T20I cricket. Five wickets fell in the final two overs, which arguably shifted the momentum in SA’s favour as the innings came to a close, with India posting 201 runs in 20 overs.

In the chase, it looked like SA were batting on a completely different pitch, as only three batters had scored in double digits. Skipper Aiden Markram (25), David Miller (35) and Donovan Ferreira (12) all looked in good touch but it was only a matter of time until they fell prey to the Indian bowlers. The side got bundled for just 95 runs in 13.5 overs, recording the biggest win for India over the Proteas in the shortest format of the game. 

While defending, birthday boy Kuldeep Yadav brought out his finest performance today as he plucked a fifer in just 17 deliveries. All five wickets were either bowled or LBW, showcasing his fine stump-to-stump bowling. Ravindra Jadeja also claimed two wickets, while Mukesh Kumar and Arshdeep Singh got one wicket each. 

For the home side with the ball, Keshav Maharaj seized two wickets and was quite economical as well. Along with him, Lizaad Williams also got two wickets. One wicket each was also picked by Nandre Burger and Tabraiz Shamsi

Indian skipper Suryakumar Yadav was adjudged Player of the Match for his electrifying century. Following this win, India levelled the series and thus shared the coveted trophies with the home team. 


India: 201/7, Overs 20, Suryakumar Yadav 100, Keshav Maharaj 2/26

South Africa: 95/10, Overs 13.5, David Miller 35, Kuldeep Yadav 5/17

Related Articles

Latest Articles