ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, Final – India vs Australia: Match preview, head-to-head and streaming details

In the 50-over WC fixtures, the mighty Australians have won eight matches, while India only won five.

In the Final match of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, the two-time World Cup winner, India will take on the five-time world champion, Australia, tomorrow, November 19, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad at 2 PM IST.

After a flawless 40+ days of action that included 47 exceptional matches, it all comes down to one final match at the venue where it all began. The Men in Blue have an exceptional opportunity to finish the tournament unbeaten, having won all ten of their matches thus far. The side last defeated New Zealand in the semi-finals by 70 runs on Wednesday at the Wankhede Stadium, securing its place in the final. The final now becomes an ideal chance for India to settle the secure with the Aussies for the loss of the 2003 World Cup final.

While Rohit Sharma goes all out against opponents, Shubman Gill takes his time and constructs a solid foundation for subsequent batters, demonstrating the perfect opening combination for Team India. Moreover, Virat Kohli is leading from the front with the willow, as he has amassed 711 runs in just 10 innings at an average of more than 100. After years of struggling to find a dependable no. four batter, India discovered a perfect ally in Shreyas Iyer, who is in incredible form this World Cup. With the ball, Jasprit Bumrah is consistently being miser in conceding runs, while Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj strike the stumps from the start. Shami has taken 23 wickets in six matches so far, which includes three five-wicket hauls and a four-wicket haul. Other batters and bowlers have also chipped in with vital contributions when needed. India turned out brilliantly throughout the competition and will be poised to continue their authority in the final.

On the contrary, Australia beat South Africa in a low-scoring semi-final on Thursday at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. The five-time winners began their campaign with two losses in their first two games to the hosts and South Africa. Later, they went on to win eight games in a row, which involved an action-packed thriller against Afghanistan in Mumbai, fueled by a double century from Glenn Maxwell. Australia claimed the T20 World Cup in 2021 and also acquired the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) earlier this year. In terms of performances, David Warner has amassed 528 runs in 10 matches at an excellent average of 52.80, whereas Mitchell Marsh and Maxwell have scored 426 and 398 runs, respectively. Adam Zampa has 22 wickets, so far, while pacer Josh Hazlewood has scalped 14 wickets. The pumped-up Australians will look to extend their winning streak in the ongoing campaign and end India’s unbeaten run.


In the history of ODI cricket, India and Australia have played 150 matches in which the Aussies have clinched 83 games, while the Men in Blue have only won 57. Along with this, ten games also ended with no result.

Moreover, in the 50-over WC fixtures, the mighty Australians have won eight matches, while India only won five.

Where to watch:

TV: Star Sports 

OTT: Disney+ Hotstar

Related Articles

Latest Articles