India tour of South Africa 2023–24 1st ODI: Arshdeep, Avesh shine as India effortlessly defeat SA to take a 1-0 lead

Following this win, India took the lead in the three-match series by 1-0.

In the first ODI of the three-match bilateral series, India defeated South Africa by eight wickets at the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. 

The home team once again won the toss in the series and asked India to bowl first. The Proteas surely must have regretted the decision, as they got bundled for just 116 runs. Pacers Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan led the attack with the bowl as they shared nine wickets amongst themselves.

India, in the chase, looked supreme even without a few first-team players, as they chased this total down in just 16.4 overs. Sai Sudharsan (55*) opened the innings for India and scored an impressive fifty in his debut. The batter looked composed and under no pressure whatsoever. From the other end, Ruturaj Gaikwad lost his wicket early but even that wasn’t much of an issue for the Men in Blue, as Shreyas Iyer (52) batted almost throughout the innings and ensured India cross the victory line with ease. In the end, Tilak Varma came and knocked a single to provide India the lead in the series.

For SA with the bat, only four players got a two-digit score as the batters terribly kept getting out one after the other. Tony de Zorzi (28) looked in quite a touch as he hit a few boundaries but from the other end, nobody stood at the crease for a long time. While wickets kept falling, Andile Phehlukwayo (33) also contributed valuable runs as he hit three fours and two sixes to take SA in three figures. 

With the bowl in the first inning, Arshdeep Singh delivered his best ODI performance today as he plucked a fifer. With him, four wickets were also taken by Avesh Khan, while Kuldeep Yadav got one wicket too.

For SA with the ball, Phehlukwayo took one wicket in the only over he bowled, becoming the lone warrior for SA tonight. Wiaan Mulder also got one wicket at the start of the innings. 

Arshdeep Singh was adjudged Player of the Match for his amazing bowling show. Following this win, India took the lead in the three-match series by 1-0.


South Africa: 116/10, Overs 28.3, Andile Phehlukwayo 33, Arshdeep Singh 5/37

India: 117/2, Overs 16.4, Sai Sudharsan 55*, Wiaan Mulder 1/26

Related Articles

Latest Articles