IPL 2024 Eliminator RR vs RCB: RR eliminate RCB to stay alive in the competition

With this win, RR now have advanced to Qualifier 2 and will take on SRH.

In the Eliminator match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Rajasthan Royals (RR) defeated Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) by four wickets at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

RR won the toss and opted to bowl first. Given how the match went yesterday, it looked like an appropriate choice, and it also complemented RR’s performance, as they kept taking wickets throughout the innings, limiting RCB to a below-par score of 172/8.

In the chase, the Royals got off to an encouraging start, as both openers, Yashasvi Jaiswal (45) and Tom Kohler-Cadmore (20), scored 46 runs for the first wicket partnership in the powerplay. While Tom lost his wicket in the sixth over, Jaiswal regained his form and sailed through till the 10th over, after which the victory seemed certain for RR. Sanju Samson (17) also scored a few runs but got out in an awful fashion. Riyan Parag (36) guided the chase in the middle over, scoring two fours and two sixes. Towards the end, the knocks of Shimron Hetmyer (26) and Rovman Powell (16*) helped RR beat RCB with six balls to spare.  

While the likes of Virat Kohli (33), Faf du Plessis (17), Cameron Green (27) and Rajat Patidar (34), all got a good bit of runs, however, none couldn’t capitalise on their knock. Green and Patidar’s partnership of 41 runs and Mahipal Lomror’s (32) quick-fire runs towards the end of the innings aided the side to have a decent target on the board.

Avesh Khan was the star with the ball for RR, as he plucked three wickets. Ravichandran Ashwin also picked up two wickets while one wicket each was taken by Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma and Yuzvendra Chahal.

For RCB with the ball, Mohammed Siraj grabbed two wickets, while one wicket each was secured by Lockie Ferguson, Karn Sharma, and Cameron Green

Ravichandran Ashwin was adjudged Player of the Match for his excellent bowling show. With this win, RR now have advanced to Qualifier 2 and will take on SRH.


Royal Challengers Bengaluru: 172/8, Overs 20, Rajat Patidar 34, Avesh Khan 3/44

Rajasthan Royals: 174/6, Overs 19, Yashasvi Jaiswal 45, Mohammed Siraj 2/33

Related Articles

Latest Articles