Viacom18 Sports obtains broadcasting rights for Tata Open Maharashtra

Pune will commemorate the event's fifth anniversary in the city in style with a star-studded lineup, and Viacom18 Sports.

India’s newest sports network, Viacom18 Sports has secured the official broadcasting rights for India’s premier tennis tournament, Tata Open Maharashtra. JioCinema, Sports18-HD, and SD versions of Sports18-1 will all carry live coverage of the main draw.

Pune will commemorate the event’s fifth anniversary in the city in style with a star-studded lineup, and Viacom18 Sports, the home of the ATP Finals and other ATP Masters, will provide fans with a premium viewing experience on TV and online.

From December 31 to January 7, 2023, the Balewadi Stadium in Pune will host the Tata Open Maharashtra, which will once again take place during the first week of the ATP schedule. Some of the top players from the ATP Tour will compete in the 2022-23 edition, including former Grand Slam champion Marin Cilic, finalist from the previous year Emil Ruusuvuori, four additional Top-50 players, and 11 Top-100 players in the singles main field.

Prashant Sutar, Tournament Director, Tata Open Maharashtra, said, “We are thrilled to welcome Viacom18 Sports on board. In a short period, Sports18 and JioCinema have caught the attention of fans across the country by bringing in world-class sporting action. I am confident that this association will take the tournament to greater heights.”

Viacom18 Sports, Chief Strategy Officer, Hursh Shrivastava, commented, “We are strengthening our position as the home of world-class sporting action that fans in India can appreciate and enjoy. The addition of Tata Open Maharashtra, South Asia’s only ATP250 event, reiterates our effort to build one of the most-loved sports networks with a rich and diverse portfolio.”

Sunder Iyer, the Joint Secretary of All India Tennis Association and Secretary of MSLTA, commented, “Tata Open Maharashtra is the biggest tennis event in Indian sporting history, and this year will be a celebratory edition for us for every tennis fan in India. Broadcast of the action always helps you reach a larger audience and create new supporters for the sport, which eventually bolsters its overall growth.”

The main draw will start on January 2 after the qualifying rounds on December 31 and January 1. In the previous week, Tata Motors also renewed its association with the forthcoming competition.

Related Articles

Latest Articles