UEFA set to punish 12 clubs that joined European Super League

Last week was one of the darkest weeks in the history of European Football. The so-called “beautiful sport’’ was divided with the owners of the biggest European clubs in the world were ready to put all the history and heritage on the line in order to earn big money. However, the news of the break-out league did not go well with the fans of the founding clubs. Pressure from fans and domestic clubs eventually forced eight founding clubs to withdraw from the  Super League, one after the other.

With almost all the clubs announcing that they are not a part of the European Super League anymore, they are still facing backlash. Even UEFA is not ready to just let the situation flow by without doing anything about it. All 12 clubs also left European Clubs Association last week. While talking to Daily Mail, UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin confirmed that all 12 clubs will be punished. 

 “Everyone has to take consequences for what they did and we cannot pretend nothing happened. You cannot do something like that and just say: ‘I’ve been punished because everybody hates me.’ They don’t have problems because of anyone else but themselves. It’s not OK what they did and we will see in the next few days what we have to do.”

Real Madrid, Barcelona, Juventus, and AC Milan are yet to still officially back out of the tournament. Real Madrid’s President, Florentino Perez who is also the master brain behind the creation of the Super League is still confident that the Super League will be played. According to Perez, the departing eight clubs are technically still bound by the contract and have not paid the amount of $300 million for the breach of contract.

Action against the 12 teams is yet to be announced as three of the twelve teams are all set to play in this year’s UEFA Champions League Semi-Final on 27th-28th April.

Related Articles

Latest Articles