Tokyo 2021 Paralympics: All you need to know about the Indian contingent, sponsors, schedule and events

India witnessed its most successful Paralympics at Rio de Janeiro in 2016.

India witnessed its best-ever performance in the Games in the recently concluded Tokyo Olympics 2021. With one gold medal, two silver and four bronze -t his was a brilliant performance by the Indian athletes. 

However, now it’s time to shift the attention to the Tokyo Paralympics. The 2020 Paralympics was also delayed by a year due to the Covid 19 pandemic. The multi-sporting event has been finalised and is set to begin on August 24 in the Japanese capital.

India witnessed its most successful Paralympics at Rio de Janeiro in 2016 with two golds, one silver and one bronze medal. Mariyappan Thangavelu, the high jumper who won gold in 2016 will be the flag bearer in the opening ceremony.


The Tokyo 2021 Paralympics will be starting on August 24 and will end on September 16.


54 Indian athletes will be competing in nine different events- archery, athletics, badminton, shooting, table tennis, para canoeing, swimming, powerlifting and taekwondo. 


Fans can watch the Paralympics on DD Sports. DD will have broadcasting rights across cable and DTH service providers.

Viewers can also live stream on EUROSPORT and EUROSPORT HD platforms.


Archery – August 27

Men’s Recurve Individual Open – Harvinder Singh, Vivek Chikara

Men’s Compound Individual Open – Rakesh Kumar, Shyam Sundar Swami

Women’s Compound Individual Open – Jyoti Baliyan

Compound Mixed Team Open – Jyoti Baliyan & TBA


August 28

Men’s Javelin Throw F57 – Ranjeet Bhati

August 29

Men’s Discus Throw F52 – Vinod Kumar

Men’s High Jump T47 – Nishad Kumar, Ram Pal

August 30

Men’s Discus Throw F56 – Yogesh Kathuniya

Men’s Javelin Throw F46 – Sundar Singh Gurjar, Ajeet Singh, Devendra Jhajharia

Men’s Javelin Throw F64 – Sumit Antil, Sandeep Choudhary

August 31

Men’s High Jump T63 – Sharad Kumar, Mariyappan Thangavelu, Varun Singh Bhati

Women’s 100m T13 – Simran Sharma

Women’s Shot Put F34 – Bhagyashri Madavrao Jadhav

September 1

Men’s Club Throw F51 – Dharambir Nain, Amit Kumar Saroha

September 2

Men’s Shot Put F35 – Arvind Malik

September 3

Men’s High Jump T64 – Praveen Kumar

Men’s Javelin Throw F54 – Tek Chand

Men’s Shot Put F57 – Soman Rana

Women’s Club Throw F51 – Ekta Bhyan, Kashish Lakra

September 4

Men’s Javelin Throw F41 – Navdeep Singh


August 27

200 Individual Medley SM7 – Suyash Jadhav

September 3

50m Butterfly S7 – Suyash Jadhav, Niranjan Mukundan


September 1

Men’s Singles SL3 – Pramod Bhagat, Manoj Sarkar

Women’s Singles SU5 – Palak Kohli

Mixed Doubles SL3-SU5 – Pramod Bhagat & Palak Kohli

2 September

Men’s Singles SL4 – Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj, Tarun Dhillon

Men’s Singles SS6 – Krishna Nagar

Women’s Singles SL4 – Parul Parmar

Women’s Doubles SL3-SU5 – Parul Parmar & Palak Kohli

*Para Canoeing

September 2

Women’s VL2 – Prachi Yadav


August 27

Men’s 65kg – Jaideep Deswal

Women’s 50kg – Sakina Khatun


August 30

Men’s R1 – 10 m air rifle standing SH1 – Swaroop Mahavir Unhalkar, Deepak Saini

Women’s R2 – 10 m air rifle SH1 – Avani Lekhara

August 31

Men’s P1 – 10 m air pistol SH1 – Manish Narwal, Deepender Singh, Singhraj

Women’s P2 – 10 m air pistol SH1 – Rubina Francis

September 4

Mixed R3 – 10 m air rifle prone SH1 – Deepak Saini, Sidhartha Babu & Avani Lekhara

September 2

Mixed P3 – 25 m pistol SH1 – Akash & Rahul Jakhar

September 3

Men’s R7 – 50 m rifle 3 positions SH1 – Deepak Saini

Women’s R8 – 50 m rifle 3 positions SH1 – Avani Lekhara

September 4

Mixed P4 – 50 m pistol SH1 – Akash, Manish Narwal & Singhraj

September 5

Mixed R6 – 50 m rifle prone SH1 – Deepak Saini, Avani Lekhara & Sidhartha Babu

*Table Tennis

August 25

Individual C3 – Sonalben Madhubhai Patel

Individual C4 – Bhavina Hasmukhbhai Patel


September 2

Women’s K44 -49kg – Aruna Tanwar

*Past Performance of Indian athletes

Paralympics Games medals

2012- 1

2016- 4

Asian Paralympics Games Medals

2010- 14



Para shooting World Cup And World championship




2020- No competition due to Covid 19

2021- 8( Less competition due to Covid 19)

Para Badminton Medals

2015- 12



World Para Athletics Championships (Senior and Junior)

2017- 5 (Seniors) ; 5 (Junior)

2019 – 23(Senior); 9(Junior)

Sponsorship and Brand Deals:

One of the primary sponsors of the Indian contingent is GoSports foundation which is a non-profit organization. GoSports has been associated with the Indian Paralympics team for a very long time and has also invested in the past. 

At this stage, I will just say we should all prepare to be pleasantly surprised by how our team will do. From what I have seen, while there has been work done towards equity for para-athletes, there remains lots more to do on multiple fronts. With India having one of the largest disabled populations in the world, it is also a significant opportunity to change thousands of lives through sport,” said Nandan Kamath, managing trustee of GoSports.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has announced that top tier sponsors have extended their support to the Paralympics as well. Five sponsors which include- Atos, Panasonic, Samsung, Toyota and Visa – also serve as worldwide Paralympic partners, together with Allianz and BP, which have inked deals only with the Paralympic committee.

Related Articles

Latest Articles