T20 World Cup Final: Australia claim their maiden ICC T20 World Cup trophy

Australia grabbed their sixth ICC World Cup trophy and first in the shortest format.

In the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 final, Australia beat New Zealand by eight wickets and claimed the prestigious trophy for the first time in history.

In the big final, Aaron Finch won the toss and chose to bowl first. The Aussies struck one wicket in the powerplay and restricted the Kiwis from scoring runs easily. Australia couldn’t stop Kane Williamson (85) until the 18th over, where New Zealand was already on the path of putting up a competitive target on the board. The might Australian team was looking forward to a challenging target of 173 in 20 overs. After an early departure of the skipper Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh (77*) came to the crease and started taking on the New Zealand bowlers. The in-form David Warner (53) and Marsh gathered 92 runs for the second wicket partnership, which set up the stage for the chase. Warner was clean bowled in the 13th over by Trent Boult. Glenn Maxwell (28) was the number four batsman, without taking much time he started playing his shots that took Australia closer to their victory. A 63-run partnership between Marsh and Maxwell took the Aussies over the finish line in the T20 World Cup final.

Josh Hazlewood pocketed three wickets while Adam Zampa got one wicket to his name. On the other end, Boult grabbed two wickets for the Blackcaps.

Australia grabbed their sixth ICC World Cup trophy and first in the shortest format. The all-rounder Marsh was adjudged Man of the Match for his 77 off 50 deliveries, his innings decorated with six boundaries and four maximums.

Related Articles

Latest Articles