South Africa tour of India 2nd T20I: Klassen cruises South Africa to yet another victory

With this win, South Africa are now two up in the five T20I series.

In the South Africa (SA) tour of India 2022 second T20I, South Africa defeated India by four wickets at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack.

After winning the toss for the second time in a row, Temba Bavuma opted to field first. Once again the decision worked out in their favour as they restricted India to just 148/6 in 20 overs. Pacers Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada and Wayne Parnell were at their best which helped SA to chase a low score in the second innings.

While chasing, captain Bavuma (35) got a brilliant start in the powerplay which laid a foundation for middle-order batters. Although the score to chase was less, it was a bit difficult to bat on the given wicket. As a result, SA also lost a few wickets, thanks to Bhuvneshwar Kumar who shooked SA’s batting order in the middle overs. It was then Heinrich Klassen (81), who took the charge of the game and smashed a fifty. The wicketkeeper-batter hammered five sixes and seven fours in his inning which took the game away from India. Furthermore, David Miller (20*) gave the final blow as he hit the winning runs in just the 19th over.

In the first inning, Ishan Kishan (34) continued his fine form in the second T20I as well. Shreyas Iyer (40) displayed a top-notch batting performance on a difficult batting track. Moreover, Dinesh Karthik (30) also contributed some valuable runs in the end. No other batter could score any important runs which resulted in a low score of just 148/6.

Anrich Nortje scalped two wickets in his quota of four overs. Along with him, Kagiso Rabada, Wayne Parnell and Dwaine Pretorius also managed to get one wicket each.

For India, it was Bhuvneshwar Kumar who was impressive as he picked up four wickets. Harshal Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal also scalped one wicket each.

Klassen was adjudged Man of the Match for his brilliant batting performance. With this win, South Africa are now two up in the five T20I series.


India: 148/6, Overs 20, Shreyas Iyer 40, Anrich Nortje 2/36

South Africa: 149/6, Overs 20, Heinrich Klassen 81, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4/13

Related Articles

Latest Articles