Rohit Sharma edges out MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli to be the highest earner in IPL history

Along with Rohit Sharma, players like MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, and a few others have also received significant payoffs for competing in the league.

Rohit Sharma, the captain of Mumbai Indians (MI), has surpassed MS Dhoni, the captain of Chennai Super Kings (CSK), and Virat Kohli to become the highest-paid player in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), according to a report by Moneyball. India’s domestic T20 league has grown over the years into one of the most lucrative competitions as it provides players with remuneration that is unmatched by any other competition.

Rohit Sharma has guided MI to the most IPL championships (5) and has earned more money than any other player in the competition. His total IPL salaries come to INR 178.6 crore.

Rohit joined Mumbai Indians in 2011 and was essential to the team’s top order. When Rohit Sharma was appointed captain in 2013, he led the team to its first IPL championship. Additionally, Rohit led the team to victory in the Champions League that same year. His dominance in the competition has since grown as a result of his victories in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

The Indian cricket team’s captain is immediately followed by MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli.

Standing second is MS Dhoni, who has been the captain of CSK since the league’s inception and was also the most expensive player in the first-ever IPL auction. Dhoni has made INR 176.84 crore from the IPL. Along with CSK, MSD also played for Rising Pune Supergiant (RPSG) for two seasons and also captained the team in the 2016 edition of the competition.

Virat Kohli, a former captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), is third on the list with an income of INR 173.2 crore.

The 16th season of IPL is only a few months away and meritorious players have already signed lucrative contracts with IPL franchises.

Top 10 earners in IPL history

Rohit SharmaINR 178.6 Cr
MS DhoniINR 176.84 Cr
Virat KohliINR 173.2 Cr
Suresh RainaINR 110 Cr
Ravindra JadejaINR 109 Cr
Sunil NarineINR 107.2 Cr
AB de VilliersINR 102.5 Cr
Gautam GambhirINR 94.62 Cr
Shikhar DhawanINR 91.8 Cr
Dinesh KarthikINR 86.92 Cr

Related Articles

Latest Articles