Ravindra Jadeja relinquishes CSK captaincy; MS Dhoni to lead

Under the captaincy of MSD, CSK won four titles (2010,2011,2018 and 2021).

The Indian all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja, who was appointed as the new skipper of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) ahead of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) season has relinquished captaincy to focus more on his game. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who captained the Chennai-based team since the inception of the competition has accepted to lead the team once again.

The official announcement of the news was done by the defending champions on Saturday. A statement released by CSK read, “Ravindra Jadeja has decided to relinquish captaincy to focus and concentrate more on his game and has requested MS Dhoni to lead CSK. MS Dhoni has accepted to lead CSK in the larger interest and to allow Jadeja to focus on his game.”

Under the captaincy of MSD, CSK won four titles (2010,2011,2018 and 2021). The second most successful team of the IPL is going through an underwhelming season so far. Under Jadeja’s captaincy, the Chennai-based team played eight matches, lost six games and won twice. At the time of the announcement of the news, CSK had acquired the ninth spot on the points table.

In their previous outing in IPL 2022, Chennai lost to Punjab Kings (PBKS) in a final over thriller. With just four points on the leaderboard so far, CSK’s chances of qualifying for the playoffs are razor-thin.

In their upcoming game on Sunday, May 1, the four-time IPL champions will take on Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium in Pune at 7:30 PM IST.

Related Articles

Latest Articles