New Zealand Cricket announces central contracts for 2021-22 season

All-rounder Daryl Mitchell and youngster Glenn Phillips have been offered their maiden national contracts by New Zealand Cricket in the recently announced 20-man list following their brilliant performances in the recent series.

Mitchell replaced injured Colin de Grandhomme and was part of the New Zealand team across all formats. He grabbed the opportunity with both hands by notching his maiden Test and One-day International centuries. He is currently with the test squad that will play series against England and the World Test Championship final against India.

On the other hand, Phillips flourished in the T20Is – he smashed 366 runs at a 40.6 average, including a record-breaking 46-ball ton – the fastest T20I century by a Kiwi against the West Indies at Bay Oval in November last year. He dislodged veteran Ross Taylor to become a permanent member of the T-20 squad.

BJ Watling dropped out of the list after he announced his retirement from all forms of cricket after the World Test Championship (WTC) final in June. Left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel has also dropped out of the list after getting his first contract last year. However, Patel will travel to the UK for the three Tests next month. Larsen said Patel’s injury has kept him out of the contracted players’ list.

Patel, the left-arm finger spinner, missed the start of the last season with a calf injury and although he subsequently made a comeback in domestic cricket, New Zealand opted against rushing him back into Test action on pitches that largely favoured seamers.

Players offered Black Caps contracts for 2021-22

Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

Related Articles

Latest Articles