KKR, Mumbai Indians to own franchises in UAE-based Premier League T20

The league was first announced in August this year with minimal details.

The two Indian Premier League franchises, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians are all set to be announced as the franchise owners in a new T20 league that will be based in the UAE. A new six-team competition has been announced by the Emirates Cricket Board, which will reportedly take place in the month of February-March 2022.

The league was first announced in August this year with minimal details. If reports are to be believed, the league will be consisting of six teams. Of those six, the owners of Kolkata Knight Riders are confirmed to buy one team. Whereas, Reliance Industries, which owns Mumbai Indians, will make a final call, once the terms and conditions have been finalised.

An official commented, “With all six, contracts have been exchanged, and advanced discussions in place, Financial terms have been finalised. The details are being gone through in most instances, with lawyers, advisors and so on.”

Capri Global, one of the bidders who failed to buy an IPL team last month, are also among one of the owners. The Sydney Sixers owners, and Kiran Kumar Gandhi, the co-owner of Delhi Capitals, also owns different teams.

The current IPL champions, Chennai Super Kings were first involved in the initial talks a couple of years earlier. Another group that missed an opportunity to own a team in IPL, the Glazer family, have bought a team. For the first time, they have got an opportunity to involve in cricket.

Although the format of the league is not official yet, it might have a double round-robin format with a knockout stage. There will be 34 matches in total that includes qualifiers, eliminator and final.

Earlier before, Emirates Premier League was postponed due to the unavailability of the players. Now, with the active participation of the IPL owners, this will motivate the organisers to kick-start the competition.

Related Articles

Latest Articles