IPL Auction 2023: Franchises spend fortunes; Curran, Green create history

Joe Root, Shakib Al Hasan, Tom Banton, Litton Das, Kusal Mendis and Rilee Rossouw, in particular, found no takers.

England’s all-rounder Sam Curran so far has been the most expensive player not only in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) auction but in the history of the competition’s auction, which is taking place at the Grand Hyatt hotel in Kochi.

Furthermore, he has surpassed the Rajasthan Royals‘(RR) INR 16.25 crore bid for Chris Morris ahead of the 2021 season to become the most pricey player in the league’s history. With INR 18.5 crore, Punjab Kings spent a ton of money on Curran. His base price was INR 2 crore.

Cameron Green followed suit, with the Mumbai Indians (MI) paying INR 17.5 crore for the Australian. Ben Stokes matched Morris’ mark as the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) snagged him. He will be considered a possible successor to MS Dhoni, who may be playing his final season in front of the Chepauk crowd.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) signed Harry Brook for INR 13.25 crore. Brook had entered the auction with a starting bid of INR 1.5 crore. The team also broke the bank for Mayank Agarwal as they purchased him for INR 8.25 crore. Meanwhile, veteran batter Ajinkya Rahane was picked by CSK for base price of INR 50 lacs.

Notably, Kane Williamson was the first player selected in the auction on Friday. The reigning champion Gujarat Titans paid INR 2 crore for the New Zealand batter.

From the wicketkeeper’s list, Nicholas Pooran has been picked by Gautam Gambhir‘s Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) for a whopping INR 16 crore.

Joe Root, Shakib Al Hasan, Tom Banton, Litton Das, Kusal Mendis and Rilee Rossouw, in particular, found no takers.


Kane WilliamsonGujarat Titans INR 2 cr
Harry BrookSunrisers Hyderabad INR 13.25 cr
Mayank AgarwalSunrisers Hyderabad INR 8.25 cr
Ajinkya RahaneChennai Super Kings INR 50 L
Joe RootINR Unsold
Rilee RossouwINR Unsold


Shakib Al HasanUNSOLD
Sam CurranPunjab Kings INR 18.50 cr
Odean SmithGujarat Titans INR 50 L
Jason HolderRajasthan Royals INR 5.75 cr
Cameron GreenMumbai Indians INR 17.5 cr
Sikandar RazaPunjab Kings INR 50 L
Ben StokesChennai Super Kings INR 16.25 cr


Tom BantonUNSOLD
Litton DasUNSOLD
Heinrich KlaasenSunrisers Hyderabad INR 5.25 cr
Kusal MendisUNSOLD
Nicholas PooranLucknow Super Giants INR 16 cr
Phil SaltDelhi Capitals INR 2 cr

Related Articles

Latest Articles