IPL 2024 Final KKR vs SRH: Match preview, head-to-head and streaming details

KKR are aiming for their third IPL championship, while SRH on the other hand, are seeking their second IPL title.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 reaches its conclusion tonight at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) clash for the coveted trophy at 7:30 PM IST.

KKR dominated the league stage, securing the top position with an impressive record of nine wins and three losses. Their path to the final was further solidified by their victory over SRH in Qualifier 1. SRH, meanwhile, displayed resilience after a second-place finish in the league stage (eight wins and five losses). They emerged victorious in a thrilling encounter against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in Qualifier 2, earning their well-deserved place in the final showdown.

Both teams exhibited a clear vision from the outset, evident in their strategic acquisitions at the pre-season auctions. A bidding war erupted for two Australian pace sensations: Pat Cummins, the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 winning captain, was secured by SRH for a staggering INR 20.50 crore. KKR countered with an even higher bid of INR 24.75 crore to secure the services of Cummins’ lethal bowling partner, Mitchell Starc. These two fast bowlers are undoubtedly the focal point of tonight’s final, promising a thrilling display of pace bowling.

While overseas players often grab the headlines, both KKR and SRH boast a strong contingent of domestic talents. For SRH, young guns Abhishek Sharma (482 runs) and Nitish Kumar Reddy (290 runs) have consistently impressed with the bat. Their bowling attack is spearheaded by the experienced T Natarajan (19 wickets) and the returning Bhuvneshwar Kumar (11 wickets). KKR, on the other hand, rely on the middle-order batting prowess of Shreyas Iyer (345) and Venkatesh Iyer (318). Their bowling attack finds consistency with Varun Chakaravarthy (20 wickets) and Harshit Rana (17 wickets).

Overseas players have also played a significant role in both teams’ journeys. Travis Head has been the leading run-scorer for SRH with 567 runs, ably supported by Heinrich Klaasen‘s 463 runs. KKR, meanwhile, leverage the experience of Sunil Narine with the bat (482 runs) and the explosive power of Andre Russell (222 runs at a strike rate of 185). Both players have also contributed with valuable bowling performances, taking 16 wickets each.

This final holds an additional layer of intrigue, as neither KKR nor SRH have any Indian players from the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad. The spotlight will be on domestic talent and the strategies devised by the respective teams’ coaching staff.


This is not the first time these two teams have faced off this season. KKR emerged victorious in both their previous encounters, once in the league stage and again in Qualifier 1.

KKR, under the guidance of their mentor Gautam Gambhir, who led them to their previous IPL titles, are aiming for their third championship. SRH, on the other hand, are seeking their second IPL title, having won their first under David Warner in 2016.

Historically, KKR hold the upper hand, having won 18 out of the 27 matches played against SRH.


TV: Star Sports Network

OTT: JioCinema

Related Articles

Latest Articles