IPL 2023 Qualifier 1 GT vs CSK: CSK brush aside GT courtesy of all-round effort, through to their 10th IPL Final

Following this win, Chennai Super Kings have now qualified for the Finals of the TATA IPL 2023.

In the Qualifier 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Gujarat Titans (GT) by 15 runs at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai.

GT won the toss and opted to field first. It was the dependable opening pair of CSK which once again prevailed over GT bowlers to reach a massive score. Both, Ruturaj Gaikwad (60) and Devon Conway (40) scored 87 runs together which provided a decent foundation for the latter batters. While Conway hit four fours, Gaikwad smashed seven fours and one six. Ajinkya Rahane (17) and Ambati Rayudu (17) also contributed a few runs in the middle overs but it was Ravindra Jadeja (22) who once again delivered a knockout performance towards the end of the innings. The four-time IPL champions posted 172 runs on the board which was a tricky target to get to.

In the chase, Shubman Gill (42) once again showcased his brilliance and gave GT a strong start. Although after being set, the right-handed batter should have batted long. Sri Lankan batter Dasun Shanaka (17) also provided few runs in the middle overs. However, Rashid Khan (30) was the only other batter who tried his best till the end. The batter smacked three fours and two sixes but it just wasn’t enough.

With the ball, while defending, CSK managed to bundle up the defending champions for 157 runs. Two wickets each were picked by Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Jadeja and Matheesha Pathirana. Tushar Deshpande also managed to pluck one GT man out.

For GT, Mohammad Shami and Mohit Sharma bagged two wickets each. With them, Darshan Nalkande, Rashid Khan and Noor Ahmad acquired one wicket each.

Ruturaj Gaikwad was adjudged Player of the Match for his outstanding batting performance. Following this win, Chennai Super Kings have now qualified for the Finals of the TATA IPL 2023.


Chennai Super Kings: 172/7, Overs 20, Ruturaj Gaikwad 60, Mohammad Shami 2/28

Gujarat Titans: 157/10, Overs 20, Shubman Gill 42, Ravindra Jadeja 2/18

Related Articles

Latest Articles