IPL 2023 DC vs SRH: Markande, Klassen, and Abhishek drive SRH to another victory

With this win, Sunrisers Hyderabad have now cemented their place on the seventh position in the points table.

In the 40th game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) beat Delhi Capitals (DC) by nine runs at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi. With this win, they have now cemented their place on the seventh position in the points table.

SRH captain Aiden Markram won the toss and opted to bat first. The Hyderabad-based outfit had some attacking intentions but lost its first wicket in the form of Mayank Agarwal (5) who was dismissed by Ishant Sharma in the third over. Abhishek Sharma (67), on the other end, was striking well, but the middle order was not able to contribute in a significant way. But in the end, Heinrich Klassen (53) and Abdul Samad (28) contributed with the bat which assisted SRH to put up 197/6 on the scoreboard.

While chasing, DC lost the skipper David Warner (0) in the very first over, but the English batter Phillip Salt (59) and Mitchell Marsh (63) started to counter attack, and stitched a partnership of 112 runs for the second wicket. Both of them were cruising the innings in which made the Hyderabad camp in distress, but the dismissal of Salt in the 12th over changed the fortunes for SRH, as it triggered a collapse of the Delhi’s batting line up. Players such as Manish Pandey (1), Priyam Garg (12), and Sarfaraz Khan (9) were dismissed in succession which derailed the DC’s innings. In the end, Axar Patel (29)* and Ripal Patel (11)* had put some efforts to chase it, but all went in vain as they were short by nine runs to chase down the target.

With the ball, Mayank Markande was right on the money for SRH, as he claimed two wickets in his four overs with the economy of five runs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Abhishek Sharma, and the debutant Akeal Hosein grabbed one wicket each. 

In the first innings, the Aussie all rounder Marsh was the star with the ball, as he got four wickets. Ishant and Axar claimed one wicket each. 

Mitchell Marsh was adjudged Player of the Match for his impressive all-round performance. He had a scintillating day with both bat and ball, as he got four wickets with the ball in the first innings, and scored explosive 63 runs which had one four and six massive sixes. 


Sunrisers Hyderabad: 197/6, Overs 20, Abhishek Sharma 67, Mitchell Marsh  4/27

Delhi Capitals: 188/6, Overs 20, Mitchell Marsh 63, Mayank Markande 2/20

Related Articles

Latest Articles