IPL 2022 RCB vs SRH: Jansen, Natarajan registers fifth victory on the trot for SRH

With this victory, SRH has now 10 points and is now second in the points table.

In the 36th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by nine wickets at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

After winning the toss once again, Kane Williamson opted to bowl first and the decision worked wonderfully for SRH as RCB were bowled out for just 68 runs. A good bowling performance from  Marco Jansen, T Natarajan and Jagadeesha Suchith restricted RCB to the lowest total of IPL 2022.

In the run chase, Both the openers, Williamson (16) and Abhishek Sharma (47) got off to a brilliant start. The batsman from Punjab hammered eight 4’s and one 6 to take SRH to this total as soon as possible. On the other end, Williamson’s job was to just make sure that SRH wins the comprehensively, which he made sure does happen. The duo added 64 runs for the first wicket partnership until Sharma got out to Harshal Patel in the eighth over. With just five more runs to get, in came Rahul Tripathi (7) who straightaway smashed a maximum to win this contest easily. Another target for SRH was to win before 11 overs if they wanted one of the top seats in the points table. The Hyderabad based franchise was able to do that as well. In fact, they chased it with so ease that their run rate also turned positive after the chase.

Suyash Prabhudessai (15) and Glenn Maxwell (12) were the top scorers for RCB in the first inning. Former captain Virat Kohli once again got out for a golden duck. Anuj Rawat and Dinesh Karthik also got out on zero. There was no positive thing that happened for RCB while batting.

Marco Jansen was the star of the evening as he managed to swing the delivery both ways. He made it look like a Test match is going on at the traditional Brabourne Stadium. The South African bowler scalped three wickets, with all three coming in just one over. Natarajan also cleaned up three wickets and just gave ten runs. Suchith got two and along with him Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umran Malik also managed to get one wicket each.

For RCB, Harshal Patel was the only bowler who got a wicket but it was too little too late for RCB.

Marco Jansen was awarded the Man of the Match for his epic spell in the powerplay. With this victory, SRH has now 10 points and is now second in the points table.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: 68/10, Overs 16.1, Suyash Prabhudessai 15, T Natarajan 3/10

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 71/1, Overs 8.0, Abhishek Sharma 47, Harshal Patel 1/18

Related Articles

Latest Articles