IPL 2021: Star Sports launches the fourth edition of Election Se Selection

Ahead of the upcoming IPL 2021 auction on February 18, Star Sports has launched the fourth edition of Election Se Selection, an exclusive platform for fans to predict every team’s potential buys. The online contest is already live on

The 30 lucky winners of this competition will be chosen based on how many of their selections end up matching the actual ones in the auction. They will be rewarded with a cricket celebration kit, which will have a jersey/bat signed by experts, an exclusive ‘Election Se Selection’ winner jersey, a cricket ball-shaped table clock, a ‘Select Dugout’ cap, and zing balls.  There is also a brand-new ‘Legendary Selection’ feature where participants’ player and team selection will be matched with former Team India players Gautam Gambhir and Irfan Pathan’s predictions.

Talking about the contest and his pick of the most unexpected retention strategy, Gambhir said, “Election Se Selection is back for all IPL fans, and this edition will be bigger and better. The retention strategies of all teams were a mixed bag, from KXIP releasing Glenn Maxwell to Sanju Samson being named captain of Rajasthan Royals after Steve Smith was released – the unexpected has begun. For me, the biggest twist in the tale was RCB releasing Chris Morris. It will be interesting to see what the fans have in mind.”

Pathan also expressed similar sentiments and said that it will be interesting to see what happens at the auction. Addressing the participants of the contest, Pathan said, “It’s time for you to vote and pick the best players for the teams. I have selected mine after analysing the steals, deals and surprises. If you match my selections, you are in for a surprise – so go on, get voting.”

All the participants have the opportunity to show their IPL expertise and vote for teams that will pick the players mentioned on the website, which includes Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Jason Roy, Aaron Finch, Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Umesh Yadav, Moeen Ali, Nathan Coulter Nile, Karun Nair, Sheldon Cottrell, Kedar Jadhav, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Sam Billings.

The mini-auction will take place in Chennai, and will be aired on February 18 at 2 PM on the Star Sports Network and Disney+ Hotstar VIP. The broadcast will be in English, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, and Kannada.

Related Articles

Latest Articles