IPL 2021 Phase 2 DC vs RR: Rajasthan Royals fall short of runs against Delhi Capitals

With this victory, DC has acquired the number one spot while RR occupied the sixth position.

In the 36th match of the Indian Premier League, Delhi Capitals beat Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs. DC’s bowling unit’s commendable performance helped the team defend the competitive total. DC set up a target of 155 on a tricky pitch in their allotted 20 overs.

Delhi Capitals lost the toss and were asked to bat. DC didn’t have a decent start in the first innings as they lost their openers in the powerplay itself. After a couple of two early wickets, Shreyas Iyer and Rishab Pant were the two new batsmen at the crease. The two batsmen stitched 61 runs for the third wicket, which stirred DC’s innings. The threatening partnership was broken by Mustafizur Rahman when the pacer dismissed the Delhi skipper for a run-a-ball 24 in the 12th over. Mustafizur also got Iyer in his following over and shifted the momentum towards Rajasthan Royals. Shimron Hetmyer’s cameo of 26 off 18 balls provided the much-needed runs for DC at a quicker rate. Before Hetmyer could do more damage, Mustafizur got rid of him in the 17th over. Axar Patel’s 7-ball 12 run cameo also gathered some quick runs at the back end of the innings. Lalit Yadav and Ravichandran Ashwin’s contribution kept the scoreboard ticking till the final ball which helped them cross the 150-run mark on the board.

Sanju Samson was the highest contributor with the bat for the Rajasthan-based franchise. The lack of support from the other end led the skipper’s half-century into vain. The Rajasthan-based franchise fell short of the target by 33 runs and also lost two crucial points.

Anrich Nortje was the pick among the bowlers for DC as he pocketed two wickets for 18. Kagiso Rabada, Ashwin, Khan and Patel had one scalp each to their names. On the other end, Mustafizur and Chetan Sakariya had two wickets each for RR. Kartik Tyagi and Rahul Tewatia had one dismissal each.

With this victory, DC has acquired the number one spot with 16 points while RR occupied the sixth position with eight points.

Delhi Capitals – 154/6, Overs 20, Shreyas Iyer (43), Mustafizur Rahman (2/22)

Rajasthan Royals – 121/6, Overs 20, Sanju Samson (70*), Anrich Nortje (2/18)

Related Articles

Latest Articles