IPL 2021 Phase 2 CSK vs SRH: Chennai Super Kings powers into playoffs

CSK becomes the first team to qualify for the IPL 2021 playoffs.

In the 44th match of the VIVO IPL 2021, Chennai Super Kings beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by six wickets. CSK chased down the competitive target of 135 on a tricky Sharjah pitch. The Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led team registered 18 points with this victory and became the first team to qualify for the current edition’s playoffs.

Chennai Super Kings won the toss and chose to field. The Chennai-based franchise got a couple of early breakthroughs as they got two big wickets of Jason Roy and Kane Williamson within the powerplay. The three-time IPL winners didn’t let SRH settle throughout the first innings and restricted them to a total of 134. The in-form CSK openers yet again gave a powerful start in the run chase. Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad were looking comfortable smashing boundaries against the SRH bowlers on a slow Sharjah pitch. Gaikwad and du Plessis gathered 75 runs for the first wicket before the former was caught within the circle on Jason Holder’s bowling. Moeen Ali (17) replaced Gaikwad at the crease. CSK lost fours wickets in the middle overs which hindered the team’s momentum. The two new batsmen at the crease, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (14*) and Ambati Rayudu (17*) stitched a small partnership of 27 runs and helmed CSK to a comprehensive six-wicket victory.

Wriddhiman Saha was the highest scorer for Sunrisers Hyderabad. The opener gave a stable start to his team in the first innings while wickets were falling at regular intervals on the other end.

Josh Hazlewood was the pick among the bowlers for CSK as he pocketed three wickets. DJ Bravo had two wickets to his name while Shardul Thakur and Ravindra Jadeja had one wicket each. On the other hand for SRH, Holder grabbed three wickets while Rashid Khan got one to his name.

Following this fixture, CSK acquired the number one spot with 18 points while SRH retained their eighth spot with four points. Josh Hazlewood was adjudged Man of the Match for his three-wicket haul.

SRH: 134/7, Overs 20, Wridhhiman Saha (44), Abhishek Sharma (18), Josh Hazlewood (3/24)

CSK: 139/4, Overs 19.4, Ruturaj Gaikwad (45), Faf du Plessis (41), Jason Holder (3/27)

Related Articles

Latest Articles