India vs South Africa 2022 2nd T20I: India claim first T20I series win at home against Proteas

With this, India have claimed their first T20I series win against South Africa at home.

In the second T20 match of the South Africa tour of India 2022, India beat South Africa by 16 runs at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati.

After winning the toss, South Africa captain Temba Bavuma asked India to bat first. The Indian team registered a flying start to their inning as both the openers, Rohit Sharma (43) and KL Rahul (57), straightaway started firing every delivery they faced. Both the batters put up 96 runs together for the first wicket partnership. KL Rahul was leading the partnership with five fours and four sixes. Virat Kohli (49*) also had the same approach even though he played at the strike rate of 175. The real entertainer of the match was Suryakumar Yadav (61). The right-handed batter, who is in form of his life, once again displayed his fine batting with some powerful strokes and elegant flicks. At the strike rate of 277.27, the batter helped the Men in Blue to reach a massive score of 237/3 at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium.

While chasing, Quinton de Kock (69*) gave an amazing start to the inning as he played at the strike rate of 143.75. Aiden Markram (33) also tried his best in the middle overs but couldn’t take it further and deep in the inning. It was David Miller (106*) who scored a century in just 47 balls to take South Africa close to the total. His hard-hitting shots were almost enough to take his team over the victory line. At the strike rate of 225, Killer-Miller hit eight fours and seven sixes. Even with such a powerful act, South Africa remained 13 runs behind after the conclusion of the inning.

Although Arshdeep Singh went for plenty, which was bound to happen given the target visitors had, he claimed two wickets. Along with him, one wicket was also plucked by Axar Patel.

For SA, only Keshav Maharaj had luck with the ball as only he picked up two wickets.

KL Rahul was announced as the Man of the Match for his brilliant batting. His firepower knock helped other batsmen to play at will. With this, India have claimed their first T20I series win against South Africa at home.


India: 247/3, Overs 20, Suryakumar Yadav 61, Keshav Maharaj 2/23

South Africa: 222/3, Overs 20, David Miller 106*, Arshdeep Singh 2/62

Related Articles

Latest Articles